Free Shipping on Orders over $75! Some exclusions apply. learn more!

Testimonials

Profile image
Elderly instruments is an American musical institution steeped in tradition, with an ear to the future. I've always felt fortunate that a musical environment like Elderly exists in the world, and I am proud to be associated with them in every way. Thanks Stan! Ben Harper
Rating
Placed on December 4, 2018
Profile image
Going to Elderly is like walking into a dream. It is an amazing wonderland of rare, vintage and new instruments of every kind, staffed by the most knowledgeable force of music lovers ever assembled. Go there. Bring your wallet. Enjoy! Jen Cass
Rating
Placed on December 2, 2018
Profile image
Every time I walk in their door, I fall in love with acoustic music all over again! Jeff Daniels
Rating
Placed on December 2, 2018
Profile image
Another great experience buying online from Elderly. Ordered my Martin Dread jr 2 on Tuesday and it was delivered to PA on Thursday for free. This guitar is a perfect fit for me as anything over GC size feels clumsy in my hands. Makes playing and learning guitar fun again. Its very easy browsing and ordering from the website. I'm so pleased with the service and product I had to give a 5 star rating. Paul M
Rating
Placed on May 23, 2017
Profile image
I just got off the phone with an employee named Andy, and I wanted to write and give you some feedback. I was looking for a guitar case for my Martin DC-28E that I could fly (safely) with, and wasn't getting a lot of hits. I live in (Removed). Someone on a guitar forum recommended your store so I called, and Andy spent time fielding questions about my instrument itself as it's relatively new to me in terms of how much I've played it -- I used to own a Taylor many years ago. We then talked about the case and he was able to provide me with exactly the perspective I needed. Notwithstanding there was one place in (Removed) with the same case, Andy's familiarity with what I was looking for (unlike the guy in (Removed) and his helpfulness, despite not knowing if I was going to buy anything, led me to order it from you. I thought it would be helpful for you to have the feedback, and it's my pleasure to give the commendation. Larry
Rating
Placed on April 24, 2017
Profile image
I really enjoy our trips to Lansing and Elderly Instruments is my favorite stop when in town. My last purchase was great and the man who sold me the lap steel and ElectroHarmonix pedal was helpful. I will not hesitate to shop online next time. I live in (removed) and our resources for gear are limited. Also, Elderly once carried my Instrumental guitar CD release a long time ago. I always bragged to my friends that you could buy my CD at Elderly. Thanks again. Mark
Rating
Placed on April 9, 2017
Profile image
Just wanted to thank you, and tell you that my order came the other day, and it was just perfect. Everything I asked for was there, and I am very pleased with your selection and service. I will be ordering again from you in a couple of months. Ross
Rating
Placed on April 6, 2017
Profile image
You are my go to store for all things musical. Phil
Rating
Placed on April 4, 2017
Profile image
Awesome experience with TH and the whole gang at Elderly last Thursday. These folks are knowledgable and professional, yet not pushy or elitists. They make you feel welcome and comfortable. I truly enjoyed my experience there and ended up buying two guitars - a Taylor acoustic and a Guild T050 Slim. The T-50 is awesome and very comfortable to play. Can't wait to air it out sometime! :-) The Taylor is amazing as well. Played it at church on Sunday with our regular group and our director was quite pleased with the sound, tone, and volume of this new beast. Thanks to all the Elderly team for making my shopping experience so great. Stephen Brent
Rating
Placed on March 14, 2017
Profile image
Just wanted to thank you. I purchased a PRS DC3 from you 3-2-17. It was rated EC and it was. Love the guitar. Also the fact I had 7 days to send it back if not satisfied.. It's not coming back. Thanks Elderly's Tom Proctor
Rating
Placed on March 9, 2017
Profile image
I have been going to Elderly since they first opened in East Lansing in the mid 1970's. I have never been dissatisfied with price or service (though Frog sometimes was overworked and a bit testy back then! ;)). There is simply no better place to go for all your stringed instrument and music needs and I have tried a LOT of places. Thanks for the many decades of being there for us, folks! David A. Dennis
Rating
Placed on December 24, 2016
Profile image
Hi to all at Elderly, I have been a customer since the late 1990s, and some of my favorite guitars have come from your shop. I have a beautiful Martin 000 Custom cocobolo/bear claw that Stan picked out, a great Lennon J-160E, and an amazing 1964 Gibson B-25, that came in a chipboard case with a MSU sticker. It ain't a pretty guitar, but to a WMU in Kalamazoo grad, Michigan born and raised, it's beautiful, and sounds and plays great. Elderly is a daily web visit, and a fantastic shop. Thanks for the great gear and service! Michael Yates
Rating
Placed on December 23, 2016
Profile image
Recently purchased a 2012 Bart Reiter banjo consigned to you. Staff was very helpful and my concern about satisfaction was largely satisfied. Instrument was in fact expertly set up (My Drum dial showed the head at 90 at all 24 points). A very satisfying experience. I will not hesitate to buy from Elderly in the future. Thanks. Richard May
Rating
Placed on December 3, 2016
Profile image
Thanks to Todd for supplying a wonderful ukulele-a great choice and thoughtful service. Phil lowe
Rating
Placed on November 17, 2016
Profile image
I just received my new D-18 and boy is she a beauty! I want to personally thank Ray and Steve for making this Veteran's Veterans's day a most memorable one. I will always support you folks! Thanks again! Jon Greenfield
Rating
Placed on November 11, 2016
Profile image
Patrick,you picked out a sweet d-18 for me! Arrived sooner than i thought! Couldn't be happier! Looking forward to my promo gear! robert moitoza
Placed on October 22, 2016
Profile image
Great prices and service, arrived super-fast! Thanks! Michael Cerreto
Rating
Placed on October 22, 2016
Profile image
Thank you..love your vintage site. Easy choice shopping with you guys. Harry
Rating
Placed on October 10, 2016
Profile image
I recently placed an order and was 100% satisfied with the purchase and how the order was processed. I will remember to consider Elderly for future purchases. Regards, Dean
Rating
Placed on October 5, 2016
Profile image
Stan, I bought a used Deering (I think a Basic) from you in 1980, after saving $5/month while in grad school in Ann Arbor. You were above a video arcade, I think, and had about 10 banjos. Since then, I’ve bought a couple of cases, and a few odds and ends. Have been a bit leery of buying an instrument I hadn’t played first, but I have to say that the 1922 F4 I got from you is simply great—congrats on making this the business that it is. Eric
Rating
Placed on October 3, 2016