The Complete Anthology of Lute Music From Musick's Monument

by Thomas Mace; transcribed & edited by Andrew Shepard-Smith
sku: 02-99995
The first complete anthology of lute music contained within Thomas Mace's historic treatise Musick's Monument (1676), transcribed and edited for classical guitar by Andrew Shepard-Smith. An intriguing collection of early English Baroque lute music containing twelve preludes, eight complete lute suites, transcription notes, and a detailed table of ornaments (as outlined in Musick's Monument). Originally written as a pedagogical text, Mace's lute music contains wonderful insights into the performance practice of the time. A valuable addition to both the performance repertoire and guitar reference literature. Moderate to advanced. Notation only. 63 pp.   More Details...
This item is available on Special Order. Please phone us to arrange the order. 517-372-7890


  • Foreword
  • Table of Ornaments
  • The First and Second Sets of Præludes:
  • The First Set of Præludes
  • The Second Set of Præludes
  • The Eight Lute Suites:
  • Suite No. 1
  • Suite No. 2
  • Suite No. 3
  • Suite No. 4
  • Suite No. 5
  • Suite No. 6
  • Suite No. 7
  • Suite No. 8
  • A Common Toy: Nightengal
  • A Fancy Prælude or Voluntary
  • Appendix:
  • Biography
  • Musick’s Monument
  • About the Author