Skip to product information
1 of 1

Bluegrass Breaks: Guitar

by Dix Bruce

SKU: 02-96862M

Regular price
$19.99 USD
Regular price
Sale price
$19.99 USD
Book/Online audio set. 23 guitar solos or "breaks" plus 16 introductions or "kickoffs" in a range of styles and levels of difficulty: easy Carter-style solos with the melody played on the bass strings, punctuated by chord strums; advanced Carter-style solos with hammer-ons, pull-offs, slides and more; flatpicking solos with lots of eighth notes, played with up and down picking; essential fiddle tunes; crosspicking solos played with two different crosspicking patterns; solos using the "real dropped D" and the "faux dropped D" tunings; a variety of kickoffs, generic and for specific songs; extensive notes on the breaks and the techniques used to play them. Intermediate. Note/tab. 64 pp.

More Details


  • Introduction
  • Jesse James Carter-style
  • Handsome Molly Carter-style
  • Amazing Grace Carter-style waltz
  • When You and I Were Young Maggie Carter-style & transposing
  • John Hardy Carter-style
  • Down in the Willow Garden Carter-style waltz
  • Crying Holy Hot Flatpicking solo
  • Don’t Let the Deal Go Down Dropped D tuning
  • New River Train Straight Flatpicking solo
  • Feast Here Tonight Hot Flatpicking solo
  • Roving Gambler Flatpicking solo
  • In the Pines Faux Dropped D tuning
  • Where the Soul Never Dies Advanced Carter-style
  • Bound to Ride Advanced Carter-style
  • Give Me Oil Crosspicking solo
  • Mike’s Marathon Advanced flatpicking solo
  • St. Anne’s Reel Fiddle tune
  • All the Good Times are Past and Gone Crosspicking solo
  • This Little Light of Mine Solo #1: Carter-style
  • This Little Light of Mine Solo #2: Flatpicking solo
  • The Train that Carried My Girl from Town Flatpicking solo
  • Grandfather’s Clock Crosspicking solo
  • Whiskey Before Breakfast Fiddle tune
  • Kickoffs
  • Index