Playford English Country Dance Tunes for Two Violins

compiled & arranged by Deborah Greenblatt
sku: 514-78
John Playford published The English Dancing Master in 1651. This monumental work featured the music for the tunes as well as instructions for performing the dances. This curated collection contains 37 of the tunes from the Playford book, arranged for two players. The melodies are on the top stave, and the harmony/backup is on the bottom stave. You can perform the melody as a solo if you're all by yourself. Duo arrangements of these tunes, in the same keys, are available for mandolin (514-79) as well. Also includes chord symbols in case you have a guitar or ukulele handy. Comb-bound.   More Details...

Only 1 piece in stock!

  • All In A Garden Green
  • Chestnut
  • The Doldrum
  • Gathering Peascods
  • Green Sleeves and Yellow Lace
  • Halfe Hannikin
  • The Health
  • Hunt the Squirrel
  • The Indian Queen
  • Jamaica
  • Jenny Pluck Pears
  • Jog On
  • Kettle Drum
  • Lilli Burlero
  • Lulle Me Beyond Thee
  • Mad Robin
  • Maids’ Morris
  • Miss Dolland’s Delight
  • Mr. Beveridge’s Maggot
  • Mr. Isaac’s Maggot
  • Mundesse
  • Never Love Thee More
  • Newcastle
  • The Night Peece
  • Nonesuch
  • Old Noll’s Jig
  • Once I Loved a Maiden Faire
  • Oranges and Lemons
  • Parsons Farewell
  • The Queen’s Jig
  • Rufty Tufty
  • Sedanny
  • Sellenger’s Round
  • The Shrewsbury Lasses
  • Stingo
  • A Trip to Paris
  • The Twenty-Ninth of May