Biréli Lagrène

Bireli Lagrene: Gypsy Jazz Guitar Artistry

by Biréli Lagrène
$16.45
sku: 02-30729M
Book with online audio. In the tradition of Django Reinhardt, Biréli Lagrène is one of most highly regarded Gypsy jazz, bebop, and fusion guitarists of recent decades. He has performed with legendary players Benny Goodman, Stéphan Grappelli, Al Di Meola, Paco de Lucía, John McLaughlin and countless others. While Lagrène is primarily an ear player, he has collaborated with TAGA Publishing to produce an exceptional book filled with insightful tips on playing the Gypsy jazz style. This book introduces intermediate jazz guitarists to the essential rhythms used in Gypsy jazz accompaniment, as well as the vocabulary needed to improvise in the Gypsy jazz style. Not for the faint of heart, the book includes online audio recordings of 33 rhythm exercises and licks to incorporate the right feel or panache in your own Gypsy jazz performance style. The musical examples are written in either chord symbols or note/tab. 43 pp.

Only 3 pieces in stock!


Preface
Interview with Biréli Lagrène
Brief History of Django Reinhardt
Django Reinhardt-Style Rhythm Examples
  • Example 1
  • Example 2
  • Example 3
  • Example 4
  • Example 5
  • Example 6
  • Example 7
  • Example 8

Django Reinhardt-Style Lines
  • Example 9
  • Example 10
  • Example 11
  • Example 12
  • Example 13
  • Example 14
  • Example 15
  • Example 16
  • Example 17

Licks Based on Finger Patterns
  • Example 18
  • Example 19
  • Example 20

Neighbor-Note Licks
  • Example 21
  • Example 22
  • Example 23

Diminished Arpeggio Licks
  • Example 24
  • Example 25
  • Example 26
  • Example 27

Other Arpeggio Licks
  • Example 28
  • Example 29
  • Example 30
  • Example 31a
  • Example 31b
  • Example 31c
  • Example 31d
  • Example 32
  • Example 33

Recently viewed